Native resolution on my IN72

My 4805 died a bit ago – threw a segment on the colorwheel, and that was it.

I found an IN72 on craigslist, and the price was right so I picked it up.

When I connected the DVI out on my mythtv box (aka the ‘kevo’), I got no love. No signal, nothing. This was strange since the 4805 worked fine, and they are basically the same.

I restarted xorg, and it came up ok, but it was at 720×480, not 848×480. I want to run native resolution if I can, so I spent the rest of the afternoon fighting with it.

After much troubleshooting the problems were:

the IN72 has a native resoltution of ~848×480, but it seems to report that it has a native resolution of 720×480 for some reason. Why they decided to do this, I have no idea.

Fortunately, the nvidia driver had an option to ignore the ‘native resolution’ setting.

I configured that, then found another problem. It couldn’t figure out the timing for the new mode for some reason. Internet to the rescue.

Here’s the nvidia config i ended up using:

Section "Device"
Identifier "nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
Driver "nvidia"
# some stuff omitted, not relevant
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
EndSection

And the modeline:

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "InFocus"
Modeline "848x480@60" 37.293 848 936 984 1104 480 508 509 563
EndSection

Some helpful commands:

## start Xwindows/xorg with verbose logging (logs to /var/log/Xorg.0.log):
startx -- -logverbose 6

Related error messages:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode is rejected: Mode (848 x 480) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Native Resolution (Max: 720 x 480).

(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to use mode "848x480@60" for IFS InFocusIN72-D (DFP-0);
(WW) NVIDIA(0): cannot compute backend DFP timings (mode is larger than
(WW) NVIDIA(0): native backend 720 x 480).

One Response to “Native resolution on my IN72”

  1. Dear Sir,
    Please, send us your email.
    We would like to get in touch with you, regarding your project.

    With best regards,
    Nikolas Zervoudakis

Leave a Reply

